top of page


In Partnership with Disability Sport & Recreation

Box Hill Rugby have partnered with Disability Sports & Recreation (DSR) in support of the Protect Victoria Wheelchair Rugby Cup, the premier competition in Victoria.

The partnership agreement with DSR will see one of the four teams renamed after Box Hill Rugby. 

Box Hill Rugby will see our club colours and club name connected with the Protect Victoria Wheelchair Rugby Cup as we strive to make our club truly inclusive.

Disability Sports & Recreation (DSR) is an independent charity helping Victorians with disability get active. DSR plays a vital role in connecting people with disability with sport and recreation, whether it be competition or social sport. 

DSR is the state sporting association for Victorian Wheelchair Rugby.

2022 sees Wheelchair Rugby go to the national level with the inaugural National Wheelchair Rugby Competition, with 2 teams from VIC, NSW and QLD. We are proud to announce that the Broncos will be one of the teams representing VIC!  

What is Wheelchair Rugby?

Wheelchair rugby is a mixed team sport for people with quadriplegia or loss of function in three limbs. Teams of four take the court and incorporate skills from basketball, handball and rugby to move the ball and score.

It is a full-contact sport; players use their chairs to block and hold off opponents in play.

Scoring for wheelchair rugby is similar to outdoor rugby, as players have to cross the scoring line in possession of the ball, but wheelchair rugby players must have at least two of the four wheels from their chair over the scoring line. Teams are awarded one point for crossing the scoring line in wheelchair rugby with this being the only way to score. 

Wheelchair rugby is played in four 8-minute quarters; with a 2-minute break at the end of the first and third quarters, and a 5-minute break at the half.

Each side has four 30 second time-outs they can use to stop play, whilst the coach has two 60 second time-outs. 

Players are given a classification depending on their disability ranging from 0.5 up to 3.5 – the higher the level of disability a player has, the lower the classification. Teams are allowed to have a maximum of eight points distributed across the four players on the court. 


Proudly sponsored by

Lets go BRONCOS grunge.gif
bottom of page